Linux.....

Any off topic chat not related to anything, no spamming please.

Linux.....

Postby smiffy6969 » Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:56 pm

So just out of interest, what are peoples take on linux here, has any one here ever used it, if so what distro's, what do you like and what bugs the hell out of you....

I'm a bit of a tech freak, i'm also not your typical computer nerd either, but I love messing with things even since I was a kid, it was clear I would be an engineer even at an early stage, and I do like my operating systems. I started out with microsoft back in the days of DOS, and went right through to XP, it was at this point I got so unpleased with windows, viruses, repairs and the likes that I turned to linux.

Now I love linux to bits, it's very versatile, but again not your usual linux user either, if one distro works, i use it, if it starts becoming a chore or I find something better, off i go, but I always give feedback and if it warrants it, have also donated.

There isn't any real point to this post really, just more of a chit chat than anything else, some days I just can't seem to get my programming head to work right so I just except it at that, it's a bit like a writers block, so I use the time reading, writing and with the family.

So if anyone wants a chat about linux, an alternative to windows, viruses, malware, and having to repair their computer, I might be able to show you a good direction to go in that might not be so painful as you think. I generally feel that linux is at a point where it can be used as a replacement for most people, and it's free too, so no more forking out for the latest version of windows.