[Howto]Package Blades on Linux

Find How to do something.

[Howto]Package Blades on Linux

Postby StaticExtasy » Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:53 pm

While doing some bladepacks I noticed my razor install wouldn't work with the zips i created under Fedora, i've also read another thread which Ubuntu has this conflict as well. So for the sake of us linux users, I will post a little how to.

Using 7zip:

Lets get 7zip
For Fedora & Ubuntu you will want to issue the command in terminal

Ubuntu
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install p7zip
Fedora
Code: Select all
sudo yum install p7zip


after it has installed, navigate to your directory for the blade-pack, in my case it was razorsample

Code: Select all
cd razorsample


now lets pack it up!

Just to make sure lets list everything in the current directory and make sure everything we want to pack up is in this directory. ls (LS in caps) lists all files in directory.

Code: Select all
ls

Here is what you should see.
Code: Select all
[stupidcrows@crowcore razorsample]$ ls
theme_razorsleek  theme_razorsleek.php  theme_razorsleek.xml



after making sure all is well, lets do it.

Code: Select all
7z a -tzip -mx=9 BLADEPACKNAME.zip


Here is what that code means

    7z is the command to run 7zip
    a is to create a new archive
    -tzip is to let 7z know that we're creating a zip file
    -mx=9 is the compression level (I set it to max with 9)

Fedora ONLY: You may encounter this
Code: Select all
bash: 7z: command not found...
Install package 'p7zip-plugins' to provide command '7z'? [N/y]

Just type "Y" and hit enter it will install the missing package.

Now type ls again and you should see your zip in the directory
Code: Select all
[stupidcrows@crowcore razorsample]$ ls
theme_razorsleek  theme_razorsleek.php  theme_razorsleek.xml theme_razorsleek.zip


Now just upload your zip into razor the admin panel you should be good to go.
Last edited by StaticExtasy on Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: stickied.
-StaticExtasy
Michael P.
DMH Computers
mike@dmhcomputers.com
StaticExtasy
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:24 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: [Howto]Package Blades on Linux

Postby smiffy6969 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 9:57 pm

Very common problem, god this had me pulling my hair out some years back....... I actually nearly lost a computer through a window, thanks for putting this on here.

I also did find the answer back then, not sure if I did post it, but ubuntu worked fine, but not on all computers...... some computers, same version of linux (ver and bit), same this same that, just different laptop, and it would work on one and not the other.

Turns out it is actually a bug with the phpmyadmin zip class we use, but your answer does the same job.

I will replace this class with my own in the next release.

smiffy
smiffy6969
 
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 8:18 am
Location: Loughborough, UK

Re: [Howto]Package Blades on Linux

Postby StaticExtasy » Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:40 am

Yeah I was getting really angry with it and I was about to walk away when I decided to use 7zip since its what I use on my windows machines
-StaticExtasy
Michael P.
DMH Computers
mike@dmhcomputers.com
StaticExtasy
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:24 pm
Location: Maryland, USA


Return to How-To's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest